72
      Sunday
      88 / 66
      Monday
      89 / 67
      Tuesday
      90 / 68

      Proposal would restrict motorcycle passengers

      The proposal would force Missouri motorcycle operators to be at least 21 years old and complete a rider safety class before they carry any passengers.

      A petition is going around that would restrict some motorcycle riders and their passengers.

      The Secretary of State??s Office approved a petition that requires more training and education before someone hops on the back of a bike.

      The petition just came out on Wednesday, and many riders have many questions.

      The proposal would force Missouri motorcycle operators to be at least 21 years old and complete a rider safety class before they carry any passengers. The restrictions would not apply to riders with a license for at least 2 years and born before 1985. Ron Schieferdecker has been riding motorcycles since he was a 9 years old. As an experienced biker, Schieferdecker said ??safety first?? is the most important thing for motorcycle riders and the proposal would do just that.

      Ron Schieferdecker said, ??We??re talking about just a test that you would have to go in and take to show your proficiency with riding. I don??t think there is really a down side to that.??

      Schieferdecker admits, he needs to know more before he supports the tougher standards for motorcycle passengers. General Manager of Mid-America Harley-Davidson Steve Tuchschmidt said the proposal sounds like a good idea because it deals with inexperienced riders.

      Tuchschmidt said, ??Without a doubt. If you??re an inexperienced rider and you have somebody on the back of your motorcycle it makes it more difficult to manage your motorcycle like coming to safe, complete stops and take back off.??

      Tuchschmidt said he needs to learn more details about the proposal before he offers the petition on tougher standards for motorcycle passengers to his customers. Supporters have until next May to collect enough signatures to get the proposal on next year??s ballot.

      Under the proposal, first time violators would be charged with a misdemeanor with a fine of up to $300.

      Penalties would increase for repeat offenses.