President Obama issues disaster declaration for blizzard

President Barack Obama officially issued a disaster declaration for the Missouri counties affected by February's blizzard.The storm hit from Jan. 31 to Feb. 5 and affected 59 counties in Missouri.President Obama made the disaster declaration on Wednesday. It allows governments and certain non-profit organizations to ask for federal help for blizzard-related costs, like removing snow.MoDOT estimated the blizzard cost the state millions of dollars in snow-related costs. Early numbers in Boone County showed costs tabulated at nearly $2 million.Counties covered by the declaration are: Adair, Andrew, Audrain, Barton, Bates, Benton, Boone, Caldwell, Callaway, Carroll, Cass, Cedar, Chariton, Clark, Clinton, Cole, Cooper, Dade, Dallas, DeKalb, Grundy, Henry, Hickory, Howard, Johnson, Knox, Laclede, Lafayette, Lewis, Linn, Livingston, Macon, Madison, Maries, Marion, McDonald, Miller, Moniteau, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Newton, Osage, Pettis, Platte, Polk, Pulaski, Putnam, Ralls, Randolph, Ray, Saline, Schuyler, Scotland, Shelby, St. Clair, Sullivan, Vernon and Worth.(The Associated Press contributed to this story)