MU faculty members named AAAS fellows

File photo from the University of Missouri campus

Six University of Missouri faculty members have been named as Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

They received this title through an election process by fellow members.

MU Chancellor Brady Deaton says â??These faculty members are building MUâ??s core for the future. From AAAS Fellows come Nobel Laureates and other honors. Weâ??re honored to have them as part of our faculty, educating our students and making discoveries that impact peopleâ??s lives.â??

The faculty members are (courtesy of the MU News Bureau):

Stephen Alexander, professor of biological science â?? Alexander was elected for his distinguished contributions to the understanding of the molecular basis of drug resistance using model organisms, and for major contributions to the study of glycosylation, an enzymatic process in the body.

Nelson Cowan, professor of psychology â?? Cowan was elected for his distinguished contributions to the field of human cognitive and developmental psychology and neuroscience, particularly regarding short-term working memory.

Mark Flinn, professor of anthropology â?? Flinn was elected for his theoretical contributions in the area of the evolution of human behavior, and for pioneering field research on stress response, family environment and child health.

Kattesh Katti, curatorsâ?? professor of radiology and physics in the School of Medicine and the College of Arts and Science and senior research scientist at the MU Research Reactor â?? Katti was elected for his distinguished contributions of nano-scale chemistry, particularly for ground breaking discoveries enabling application of chemical concepts for biomedical applications.

Shuqun Zhang, professor of biochemistry â?? Zhang was elected for his distinguished contributions to plant signal transduction research, particularly toward understanding plant development, stress and defense.

Melvin Oliver, adjunct professor of plant sciences â?? Oliver was elected for his distinguished contributions to plant stress biology, as well as promoting plant sciences both nationally and internationally.