Majority leader wins GOP contest for Mo. speaker

Missouri House Republicans have chosen Majority Leader John Diehl to be their speaker nominee for 2015.

Republicans met privately during Wednesday's veto override session. Diehl and House member Caleb Jones, of California, Mo., had been seeking the nod to be speaker.

The House speaker is the top position in the 163-member House and officially is elected by the chamber on the first day of each biennial session. Republicans currently hold 109 seats. Under a tradition begun several terms ago, Republicans have picked their next speaker nominee more than a year before the election to give the person time to prepare for the job.

Current Speaker Tim Jones is barred by term limits from seeking re-election to the House in 2014.