Candidate filing for 2014 election ends

Candidate filing for the 2014 elections ended at 5 p.m. Tuesday.

Tuesday marked the last day for candidates to file for seats in the 2014 elections.

State Auditor Tom Schweich, a Republican, will face no opposition from his own party or the Democratic Party in his reelection campaign. His office is the only statewide office on the 2014 ballot.

Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer will face three other Republicans in his Congressional reelection campaign. Leonard Steinman, John Morris and Joe Frost have all mounted primary challenges to Luetkemeyer's campaign for a fourth term. Courtney Denton and Velma Steinman are vying for the Democratic Party ticket, while Steven Hedrick represents the Libertarian Party.

Three different parties in Missouri's 4th U.S. House district will see two-way primary races. Vicky Hartzler will defend her seat against John Webb in the GOP primary. Jim White and Nate Irvin will square off in the Democratic race while Randy Langkraehr and Herschel Young will compete for the Libertarian ticket.

Residents of the new 10th state senate district will have their first chance to elect a senator since their district was created two years ago. The district, which includes Audrain, Callaway, Monroe and Montgomery counties, is currently represented by Kansas City Democrat Jolie Justus, who is barred by term limits from seeking reelection. Republican Jeanie Riddle and Democrat Ed Schieffer, both currently in the state House of Representatives, are the only candidates to file for the seat.

Sen. Mike Kehoe will face no primary challengers in his reelection campaign, but Mollie Kristin Freebairn has filed for the Democratic Party's slot in that race.

Further to the south, Sen. Dan Brown will face a primary challenge in the form of Bernard Mowinski. No other parties have fielded candidates in his senate district.

Over in the house, Rep. Jay Houghton, R-Martinsburg, will face Democrat Ed Lockwood. Similarly, Columbia Republican Caleb Rowden will defend his seat against Democrat Thomas Pauley. Kip Kendrick, a Democrat, will be unopposed in his effort to succeed longtime Rep. Chris Kelly, who is not seeking reelection. Democratic Rep. Stephen Webber will also run for reelection unopposed.

In the 47th District, Republicans Charles Basye and Elizabeth Phillips will face each other to determine who will challenge incumbent Democrat John Wright in his first reelection campaign. Wright will face no primary opponent.

Boonville Republican Dave Muntzel and California Republican Caleb Jones will face no opposition in the primary or general elections. Jefferson City's Jay Barnes will also run unopposed.

In the 49th District, Republican Travis Fitzwater and Democrat Larry G. Brown will face off to succeed Jeanie Riddle, who is running for the state senate. Neither candidate will face a primary challenger.

Incumbent Republican Mike Bernskoetter will not face any primary opponents but will defend his seat against the Constitution Party's Michael Eberle in the general election.